The Kid Laroi Leads 2022 APRA Award Winners

The Kid Laroi dominated the APRA Music Awards and took home the top award at the ceremony, which was held on Tuesday night, May 3, at Melbourne Town Hall.

The Kid Laroi, whose real name is Charlton Howard, had a breakthrough year in 2021 after his collaboration with Justin Beiber, “Stay,” topped the Billboard Hot 100 chart and also topped the charts in his homeland Australia.

Laroi won in three categories – Songwriter of the Year, the peer-voted APRA Song of the Year for “Stay,” and Most Performed Hip Hop/Rap Work for “Without You.”

Laroi became the youngest ever winner in the Song of the Year category.

“Thank you for awarding me with Songwriter of the Year. I really appreciate the support and I want to give a quick shout out to fans back home,” Laroi said when accepting the award via video link from Los Angeles.

He added, “I’m stoked to be on my way back and I can’t wait to perform the ‘End Of The World’ tour with you guys. I miss you all and I’ll see you soon.”

Meanwhile, Genesis Owusu won Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year, while Tones And I won Most Performed Pop Work for “Fly Away” and Most Performed Australian Work Overseas for “Dance Monkey.”

(Photo: Steve Cannon)

Music News Service distributed by Frankly Media. Copyright(c) 2022 RTTNews.com. All Rights Reserved