SZA Surprise-Drops Deluxe Edition Of ‘Ctrl’

SZA released a deluxe edition of her debut album Ctrl on Thursday (June 9), celebrating the fifth anniversary of the record.

Ctrl (Deluxe) features all the 14 songs from the original album as well as seven unreleased tracks. “Love Galore,” “2AM,” “Miles,” “Percolator,” “Awkward,” “Jodie” and “Tread Carefully” are the previously unreleased tracks.

Earlier in the week, SZA took to Twitter to tease the release of the unreleased tracks.

“Unreleased songs from 2017 to celebrate 5.me thinks,” she wrote on June 6. In a follow-up tweet, she said all the seven additional tracks were “made in 2014-2016 /17. not new lol to be absolutely clear.”

“This is JUST a gift for camp ctrl. Nothing more nothing less. if u family you get it. 5 yrs is a long time,” SZA tweeted after releasing the deluxe edition. “Thank you for changing my life I love you. Happy anniversary #HAPPYCTRLANNIVERSARY.”

Ctrl, which was released in 2017, spent a total of 260 weeks on the Billboard 200 chart and peaked at No. 3. The song stayed atop the Top R&B Albums charts for two weeks and remained on the list for 259 weeks.

SZA earned five Grammy nominations for Ctrl, including best new artist and best urban contemporary album.

(Photo: Blair Caldwell)

Music News Service distributed by Frankly Media. Copyright(c) 2022 RTTNews.com. All Rights Reserved