Lil Baby Crowned ASCAP Songwriter Of The Year For Second Straight Year

Lil Baby has been crowned ASCAP Songwriter Of The Year for the second straight year.

The prolific, Grammy-winning songwriter and artist had a hand in writing the lyrics for several chart-topping hits, including “Every Chance I Get,” “Girls Want Girls,” “On Me,” “Rags2Riches 2” and “Wants and Needs.” The eagerly awaited solo follow-up to his four-time certified platinum sophomore album, My Turn, is scheduled to arrive this summer.

The R&B/Hip-Hop and Rap Song of the Year award is presented to ASCAP songwriters Orville “Buggs Can Can” Hall and Phillip Triggerman Price, Dion “Devious” Norman, Tre’ Samuels and Dave Welcome for their work on “Go Crazy.”

The Gospel Song of the Year award goes to Johntá Austin and Jeremy “TryBishop” Hicks who co-wrote “Speak to Me.”

Sony Music Publishing won the ASCAP Rhythm & Soul Publisher of the Year award.

Celebrating the songwriters and publishers behind this year’s biggest hits in hip-hop, R&B and gospel, ASCAP’s prestigious Rhythm & Soul Music Awards return in a virtual format, with posts and original videos spotlighting each winner over four days starting June 21.

Music News Service distributed by Frankly Media. Copyright(c) 2022 RTTNews.com. All Rights Reserved